La prescription d’opioïdes au Canada et sa contribution potentielle à la crise des opioïdes. Cliquez ici pour voir le rapport complet (en anglais). Cliquez ici pour voir l’infographie (en anglais).

X

À propos de nous

Notre histoire
AVANT 2005

Notre fondatrice, Helen, est une entrepreneuse en série. À l’université, elle avait une entreprise de matériel de promotion, bien avant que les chandails scolaires soient populaires.

Après avoir terminé sa maîtrise en sciences de la gestion et avoir travaillé en Belgique et en Suisse pendant quelques années, elle a fondé une société de conseil en Suisse.

Onze ans plus tard, elle est revenue à Toronto et y a fondé une autre société de conseil.

2005

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a demandé à Helen de fouiller dans son système de médicaments d’ordonnance.

Elle a recommandé une série de changements transformationnels, et ils ont tous été mis en œuvre.

Elle a ensuite été recrutée comme première administratrice en chef à temps plein des Programmes publics de médicaments de l’Ontario et comme sous-ministre adjointe de la Santé de l’Ontario.

2005 / 2011

Elle a passé les cinq années suivantes à perturber et à transformer le système de médicaments d’ordonnance en Ontario.

Elle et son équipe ont fini par faire économiser au gouvernement, donc aux contribuables, 1,5 milliard de dollars en changeant la façon dont les médicaments étaient approuvés et en faisant du gouvernement, donc des contribuables, le client.

2011 / 2018

En 2011, elle s’est mise à perturber le secteur privé, avec Reformulary®. Depuis lors, Reformulary – ainsi que notre outil numérique, MédiGuide – a changé bien des choses pour les employeurs canadiens.

Cela a non seulement rendu les régimes d'assurance médicaments des entreprises plus rentables et durables pour les employeurs, mais également plus efficaces pour les employés.

Groupe Reformulary est une société fermée ayant son siège à Toronto, au Canada.

Notre manifeste

Nous nous engageons à offrir des régimes d’assurance médicaments qui sont à la fois durables pour les employeurs et efficaces pour les employés.

Nous ne compromettrons sous aucun prétexte la qualité du traitement offert aux employés.

La qualité des options médicamenteuses que nous offrons repose sur des données et des preuves scientifiques. Et non sur des chiffres comptables.

Nous aidons nos clients à réussir quand nous faisons passer leurs employés de l’état de consommateurs à l’état de partenaires.

Nous nous engageons non seulement à suivre les meilleures pratiques, mais aussi à les établir.

Nous perturbons les modèles traditionnels d’assurance médicaments. Et, pour réussir, nous devons continuer à le faire.

Nous disons la vérité. Si nos solutions ne résoudront pas les problèmes d’un client éventuel, nous le lui dirons.

Nous sommes fiers de ce que nous faisons. Nous changeons les choses pour nos clients et leurs employés.

Nous sommes une société fermée. Nous ne sommes pas responsables devant des actionnaires. Nous ne sommes responsables que devant nos clients et nos propres normes.

Notre équipe
Helen Stevenson
Helen Stevenson
Fondatrice et PDG
Télécharger la vCard

Dans son ancien rôle de sous-ministre adjointe de la Santé et d’administratrice en chef des Programmes publics de médicaments de l’Ontario, Helen a supervisé le programme de médicaments de 4 milliards de dollars de l’Ontario. Elle a mené la plus importante série de réformes des médicaments d’ordonnance en 20 ans : le projet de loi 102, qui a permis à l’Ontario de faire une économie sans précédent de 1,5 milliard de dollars sur cinq ans. De plus, elle a été à la tête de nombreuses initiatives du régime de médicaments de l’Ontario, y compris le Conseil des citoyens, le Cadre des médicaments pour les maladies rares, MedsCheck et la Stratégie en matière de stupéfiants et de substances contrôlées. Helen a déjà été membre du conseil d’administration de la Fiducie de soins de santé des retraités du secteur de l’automobile et présidente de son comité de gouvernance, membre du conseil des gouverneurs de l’Hôpital général de North York et directrice de la Fondation de l’Hôpital général de Toronto-Est.

Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université McGill et d’une maîtrise en sciences de la gestion de l’Université de Boston à Bruxelles et porte le titre IAS.A de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés.

Ce que vous ne savez peut-être pas à son sujet : Helen a passé 4 jours à s’entraîner avec les Navy SEALs, à Coronado, en Californie.

Amanda Belcham
Amanda Belcham
Adjointe de direction
Télécharger la vCard

Amanda est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts spécialisé de l’Université de Toronto et d’un baccalauréat en éducation de l’Institut universitaire de technologie de l’Ontario. Pendant ses années universitaires, elle a développé un esprit critique et analytique qui est essentiel à l’élaboration de stratégies de résolution de problèmes.

Ce que vous ne savez peut-être pas à son sujet : À l’âge de 4 ans, Amanda a aidé à présenter les biscuits Teddy Grahams au personnel de Nabisco.

Angelo Tullo
Angelo Tullo
VP Finance
Télécharger la vCard

Angelo is a Chartered Professional Accountant with over 20 years of international financial and operational experience with both private and public companies.

He has served at TSX and TSX Venture listed companies as Chief Financial Officer, Vice President, Director, Company Secretary, as well as serving on the Board of Directors.

One thing you probably didn’t know about Angelo: He shares the same birthday with his eldest son.

Silvia Hruba
Silvia Hruba
Coordonnatrice de la liste des médicaments
Télécharger la vCard

Silvia a été directrice de bureau chez Pharm-In, en Slovaquie, où elle apportait son expertise en traduction médicale ainsi qu’un soutien administratif plus général à la direction. Elle a aussi occupé divers postes administratifs au sein de l’Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada.

Ce que vous ne savez peut-être pas à son sujet : Silvia parle couramment l’anglais et le slovaque et peut converser en français, en russe et en néerlandais.

Nasir Keshvani
Nasir Keshvani
Directeur de l’informatique
Télécharger la vCard

Avant de se joindre à Groupe Reformulary Inc., Nasir a travaillé comme analyste principal en actuariat chez Mercer, l’une des plus grandes sociétés de conseil en avantages sociaux au monde. Il était chargé de l’évaluation actuarielle de la capitalisation et de la comptabilisation de moyens et grands régimes de retraite, tant publics que privés. Parmi ses clients figuraient de grandes entreprises Fortune 500 des secteurs de la banque et de la finance, de la fabrication, de l’exploitation minière et des soins de santé.

Ce que vous ne savez peut-être pas à son sujet : Nasir s’est classé premier au concours de mathématiques Euclide, au Kenya, en 2003.

Geyijie Li
Geyijie Li
Analyste commercial
Télécharger la vCard

Geyijie a obtenu sa M. Sc. en statistique de l’Université Carleton et porte le titre d’associé de la Société des actuaires (ASA). Auparavant, il travaillait comme analyste des données commerciales chez Inspur, en Chine.

Ce que vous ne savez peut-être pas à son sujet : Geyijie est en train d’apprendre à jouer du violon.

Nos experts

Formé en 2011, le comité d’experts de Reformulary est composé de 13 médecins et pharmaciens exerçants, tous experts dans leur domaine. Ceux-ci nous donnent des conseils impartiaux. Ils ne sont pas des employés de notre entreprise. Le comité se réunit tous les mois pour examiner les nouveaux médicaments d’ordonnance disponibles au Canada, ainsi que les classes de médicaments. À ce jour, il s’est réuni 78 fois.

Mais qu’en est-il des conflits possibles? Groupe Reformulary a des lignes directrices claires et transparentes sur les conflits d’intérêts pour les membres de son comité d’experts. Chaque membre a rempli et soumis un formulaire de divulgation de conflits d’intérêts et est tenu de divulguer tout conflit d’intérêts potentiel, apparent ou réel.

Président, Vice-président
Membres du comité
Conseillers spéciaux
Président
Dr Paul Oh, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Toronto (Ontario)

Le Dr Paul Oh est directeur médical du Programme de prévention et de réadaptation cardiovasculaires et scientifique à l’Institut de réadaptation de Toronto, au Réseau universitaire de santé (RUS). Il a déjà été président du Comité d’appréciation des médicaments et des thérapeutiques (CAMT) de l’Ontario, au ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD) de l’Ontario, et il a participé à des lignes directrices et à des processus d’élaboration stratégique pour l’évaluation des médicaments et des technologies de la santé à l’échelle provinciale et fédérale.

Vice-président
Muhammad Mamdani, M.P.H., M.A., Pharm. D.
Toronto (Ontario)

Le Dr Muhammad Mamdani est directeur du Centre de recherche et de formation en analytique des soins de santé Li Ka Shing (LKS-CHART), à l’Institut du savoir Li Ka Shing, à l’Hôpital St. Michael, et professeur agrégé à l’Université de Toronto. Il est aussi professeur à la Faculté de pharmacie Leslie Dan, au Département de médecine de la Faculté de médecine et à l’Institut de politique, de gestion et d’évaluation de la santé de la Faculté de santé publique Dalla Lana. De plus, Muhammad est scientifique principal adjoint à l’Institut de recherche en services de santé (IRSS) et cochercheur principal au Réseau de recherche sur la politique du médicament de l’Ontario.

Membre
Dr Bill Evans, MD, FRCPC
Hamilton (Ontario)

Le Dr Bill Evans est un oncologue médical qui s’intéresse au cancer du poumon depuis le début de sa carrière. Il est professeur émérite au département d’oncologie de l’Université McMaster et dirige un cabinet de conseil appelé Oncosynthesis Consulting Inc. Il est aussi président du Comité consultatif sur l’abandon du tabagisme d’Action Cancer Ontario et membre du Comité directeur pour un modèle de gestion des risques du cancer du Partenariat canadien contre le cancer. Il a occupé plusieurs postes de direction, dont ceux de directeur général du Centre régional de cancérologie d’Ottawa, de responsable provincial de la thérapie générale au bureau provincial d’Action Cancer Ontario et de président de l’Hôpital et Centre de cancérologie Juravinski au Centre des sciences de la santé de Hamilton. Le Dr Evans est l’auteur de plus de 275 articles publiés dans des revues à comité de lecture.

Membre
Dr Gerald A. Evans, MD, FRCPC
Kingston (Ontario)

Le Dr Gerald Evans est président de la Division des maladies infectieuses et professeur aux départements de médecine, de sciences biomédicales et moléculaires et puis de pathologie et de médecine moléculaire à l’Université Queen’s ainsi que médecin traitant en maladies infectieuses et en médecine interne à l’Hôpital général de Kingston et à l’Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu. Il est scientifique adjoint à l’Institut de recherche en services de santé (IRSS) et cochercheur au Réseau de recherche sur la politique du médicament de l’Ontario (RRPMO), membre du sous-comité d’Action Cancer Ontario du Comité d’évaluation des médicaments (CEM) et président du Groupe de travail sur les médicaments pour les maladies rares au ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD) de l’Ontario. Il est ancien président du CEM au MSSLD.

Membre
Jean Lachaine, BPharm, PhD
Montreal (Quebec)

Le Dr Jean Lachaine est professeur à la Faculté de pharmacie de l’Université de Montréal et chercheur associé à la Faculté de médecine de l’Université de Montréal. Il est membre du Comité scientifique de l’Institut national d’excellence en santé et en services sociaux (INESSS) du Québec, à titre d’expert en pharmacoéconomie. Il est aussi membre actif du Regroupement en soins de santé personnalisés au Québec (RSSPQ) et du Partenariat pour la médecine personnalisée en cancer (PMPC).

Membre
Dr Stuart MacLeod, MD, PhD
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Le Dr Stuart MacLeod est professeur de pédiatrie à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique depuis 2003 et est devenu honoraire en janvier 2015. Il est chercheur à l’Hôpital pour enfants de la Colombie Britannique, et il a déjà été directeur de l’Institut de recherche sur l’enfant et la famille à l’Hôpital pour enfants de la Colombie-Britannique et vice-président à la recherche pour la Régie des services de santé provinciaux de la Colombie-Britannique. Ses intérêts actuels en matière de recherche comprennent la pharmacologie et la toxicologie cliniques pédiatriques, les effets indésirables des médicaments, la pharmacogénomique, la politique du médicament et l’usage optimal des médicaments chez les enfants.

Membre
Dre Elizabeth Mann, MD
Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)

La Dre Elizabeth Mann est une interniste généraliste qui s’intéresse particulièrement aux maladies cardiovasculaires et à la porphyrie. Elle a été professeure de médecine à l’Université Dalhousie. Elizabeth a aussi été membre du conseil du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse de juin 2007 à mai 2017 et présidente du Collège de 2012 à 2014. Elle a reçu des prix d’enseignement et de clinique de son département, de la Société canadienne de médecine interne et du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Elle a occupé divers postes administratifs, dont la présidence du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Membre
Dr Peter Tugwell, MSc, MD, FRCPC, FACP, FRCP
Ottawa (Ontario)

Le Dr Peter Tugwell est professeur de médecine, d’épidémiologie et de médecine communautaire à l’Université d’Ottawa et rhumatologue praticien à l’Hôpital d’Ottawa. Il est aussi directeur du Centre de santé globale à l’Institut de recherche sur la santé des populations, à l’Université d’Ottawa. Peter est codirecteur d’un Centre collaborateur pour le transfert de connaissances et l’évaluation des technologies de la santé dans le domaine de l’équité en matière de santé de l’OMS et rédacteur-coordonnateur du groupe d’examen de Cochrane Musculoskeletal. Il est officier de l’Ordre du Canada.

Membre
Sandra Knowles, BSc Phm
Toronto (Ontario)

Sandra Knowles est pharmacienne spécialiste de l’innocuité des médicaments au Centre des sciences de la santé Sunnybrook, à Toronto, et professeure adjointe (statut seulement) à la Faculté de pharmacie de l’Université de Toronto. Elle a publié de nombreux articles sur les effets indésirables des médicaments dans des revues à comité de lecture et a collaboré à la rédaction de chapitres de divers livres; au total, elle a plus de 100 publications à son actif.

Conseillers spéciaux
Dr Joe Clarke, MD, PhD, MSc
Toronto (Ontario)

Joe Clarke est professeur émérite de pédiatrie à l’Université de Toronto. Il détient un M.D., un Ph. D. en biochimie et une M. Sc. en politique de la santé. Il a contribué à la compréhension fondamentale d’un certain nombre de maladies métaboliques héréditaires, y compris les maladies lysosomales. Pendant plus de 45 ans, Joe a pratiqué activement en clinique, soignant des patients de tout âge atteints de diverses maladies métaboliques héréditaires. Par ailleurs, le Dr Clarke a écrit le manuel A Clinical Guide to Inherited Metabolic Diseases, publié par Cambridge University Press.

Conseillers spéciaux
Dr Andreas Laupacis, MD, MSc
Toronto (Ontario)

Andreas est interniste généraliste, directeur général de l’Institut du savoir Li Ka Shing de l’Hôpital St. Michael, professeur à la Faculté de médecine et au Département de politique, de gestion et d’évaluation de la santé de l’Université de Toronto, et scientifique au Centre de recherche Keenan. Il a une vaste expérience avec les décisions sur le remboursement des médicaments dans le secteur public, ayant été membre du Comité d’appréciation des médicaments et des thérapeutiques (CAMT) de l’Ontario et premier président du Comité consultatif canadien d’expertise sur les médicaments de l’Agence canadienne des médicaments et des technologies de la santé (ACMTS).

Conseillers spéciaux
Dr Braden Manns, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Calgary (Alberta)

Braden Manns est professeur de la chaire Svare en économie de la santé et néphrologue au Département de médecine et au Département des sciences de la santé communautaire de l’Université de Calgary et chercheur-boursier en santé à Alberta Innovates – Health Solutions. Il est aussi directeur scientifique du Réseau clinique stratégique sur la santé rénale (KH SCN) des Services de santé de l’Alberta. Braden est ancien président du Comité consultatif canadien d’expertise sur les médicaments, ancien membre du Comité d’experts sur l’évaluation des médicaments et la thérapeutique pour Santé Alberta et président sortant de la Société canadienne de néphrologie.

Conseillers spéciaux
Michael Boivin, B. Sc. Phm.
Barrie (Ontario)

Michael Boivin est pharmacien clinicien consultant, développeur en éducation permanente et président de CommPharm Consulting Inc. Il a écrit près de 100 activités de formation continue pour pharmaciens, médecins de famille, médecins spécialistes, infirmières et autres professionnels de la santé, et il a beaucoup travaillé pendant 17 ans en pharmacie communautaire.

Consultant
Dr Michael Mayne, PhD
Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)

Michael est fondateur et PDG de Health Consulting Canada Inc., qui se concentre sur l’amélioration de la proposition de valeur des produits faite aux acheteurs éventuels au Canada et à l’étranger. Il a plus de 15 ans d’expérience comme cadre supérieur au fédéral et au provincial, ayant déjà été sous-ministre de la Santé et ayant déjà joué des rôles importants dans la refonte des règles et des politiques canadiennes d’approvisionnement en médicaments génériques et de marque. Dernièrement, Michael était PDG de l’Autorité régionale de la santé, où il était chargé de la gestion des services de santé de première ligne au sein du système canadien à payeur unique.

À propos de nous

Pendant des décennies, peu savaient ce qu’était une liste de médicaments et peu en comprenaient l’importance.

Et, puisque personne ne s’en occupait, c’est devenu une longue liste non gérée, indifférenciée et non transparente pour les utilisateurs.

Lorsqu’une telle liste n’est pas gérée intelligemment et que les employeurs canadiens dépensent 11 milliards de dollars par an, les conséquences sont inévitables : les dépenses augmentent, et les primes aussi.

Et, pour freiner les coûts, on finit par prendre des mesures désespérées et brutales. De telles mesures tendent à éloigner les employés sans sensiblement réduire les coûts.

Voilà pourquoi notre fondatrice a créé Groupe Reformulary et, par conséquent, pourquoi nous continuons de connaître un grand succès.

C’est un fait : Reformulary®, qui repose sur les conseils fiables d’experts indépendants, permet aux employeurs de faire des économies et de rendre plus durable leur régime d’assurance médicaments.

Au moyen de la plateforme MédiGuideMC de Reformulary, nous avons mis la liste des médicaments à la disposition des membres du régime et des Canadiens, afin qu’ils puissent bien choisir leurs médicaments.

Notre nouvelle liste des produits du cannabis est fondée sur un examen approfondi des données et sur les conseils fiables et impartiaux de notre comité de la liste des produits du cannabis.

La liste des produits du cannabis sera disponible en décembre 2018.

En savoir plus

Reformulary Group announces Cannabis Standard, Canada’s first evidence-based medical cannabis formulary

X

About Us

Our Story
BEFORE 2005

Our founder, Helen, is a serial entrepreneur. In university, she had a promotional swag company, long before school sweatshirts were popular.

After doing her MSM and working in both Belgium and Switzerland for several years, she founded a consulting firm in Switzerland.

Eleven years later, she moved back to Toronto and founded another consulting firm in Toronto.

2005

Helen was asked by the government to dig into the prescription drug system in Ontario.

She recommended a series of transformative changes, all of which were implemented.

She was then recruited to be the first full-time Executive Officer of Ontario Public Drug Programs, as well as Assistant Deputy Minister of Health.

2005 / 2011

Her next five years were spent disrupting and transforming the prescription drug system in Ontario.

She and her team ended up saving the government and taxpayers $1.5 billion by changing the way drugs were approved -- effectively making the government and taxpayers the customer.

2011 / 2018

In 2011, she took disruption to the private sector with Reformulary®. Since then, The Reformulary – and our digital tool, DrugFinder – has made a major difference for Canadian employers.

Not only has it made corporate drug plans more cost-effective and sustainable for employers, but also more effective for employees.

Reformulary Group is a privately held company headquartered in Toronto, Canada.

Our Manifesto

We are committed to delivering drug benefit plans that are both sustainable for employers and efficacious for employees.

We will not compromise the quality of treatment offered to employees for any reason.

The quality of the drug options we offer is determined by science and evidence. Not accounting.

We help our clients succeed when we turn 
employees from consumers into partners.

We are committed to not just following best
practices, but to establishing them.

We are disrupting the traditional models for drug benefits. Our success depends on continuing to do so.

We tell the truth. If our solutions don’t solve a potential client’s problems, we’ll tell them that.

We’re proud of what we do. We’re making a difference to our clients and their employees.

We are a privately-held company. We are not responsible to shareholders. We are responsible only to our clients and our own standards.

Our Team
Helen Stevenson
Helen Stevenson
Founder, President and CEO
download VCard

In her former role as Assistant Deputy Minister of Health and Executive Officer of Ontario Public Drug Programs, Helen oversaw Ontario's $4 billion drug program. She led the most significant prescription drug reforms in two decades – Bill 102 – which saved Ontarians an unprecedented $1.5 billion over five years. Helen also led many of Ontario's drug system initiatives, including the Citizens' Council, Drugs for Rare Diseases Framework, MedsCheck, and the Ontario Narcotics Strategy. Helen is a former Trustee of the Auto Sector Retiree Health Care Trust and Chair of the Governance Committee, a former Governor of the Board of North York General Hospital, and former director of the Toronto East General Hospital Foundation.

She has a BCom (McGill University), MSM (Boston University Brussels), ICD.D designation.

One thing you probably didn’t know about Helen: She spent 4 days training with the Navy Seals in Coronado, California.

Amanda Belcham
Amanda Belcham
Executive Assistant
download VCard

Amanda has an Honours Bachelor of Arts from the University of Toronto and a Bachelor of Education from the University of Ontario Institute of Technology. Through these years of university, she has acquired a critical and analytical thought process that has been essential for the development of problem solving strategies.

One thing you probably didn’t know about Amanda: At 4 years old, Amanda helped introduce Teddy Graham cookies to the Nabisco staff.

Allan Levine
Allan Levine
VP Business Operations
download VCard

Prior to joining Reformulary Group, Allan was the founder and president of a data-driven marketing company. He has been VP of Business Development & Operations for an automotive company and VP Of Operations for a consumer-packaged goods company.

One thing you probably didn’t know about Allan: He once worked as Gordie Howe’s bodyguard.

Angelo Tullo
Angelo Tullo
VP, Finance
download VCard

Angelo is a Chartered Professional Accountant with over 20 years of international financial and operational experience with both private and public companies. He has served at TSX and TSX Venture listed companies as Chief Financial Officer, Vice President, Director, Company Secretary, as well as serving on the Board of Directors.

One thing you probably didn’t know about Angelo: He shares the same birthday with his eldest son.

Silvia Hruba
Silvia Hruba
Formulary Coordinator
download VCard

Silvia was Office Manager at Pharm-In in Slovakia where she provided medical translation expertise in addition to more general executive level administrative support. Her experience also includes various administrative positions within the Public Service Alliance of Canada.

One thing you probably didn’t know about Silvia: She is fluent in English and Slovak, and can hold conversations in French, Russian and Dutch.

Nasir Keshvani
Nasir Keshvani
Director, Informatics
download VCard

Prior to joining Reformulary Group Inc., Nasir worked as Senior Actuarial Analyst with Mercer, one of the largest benefits consulting firms in the world. He was responsible for performing actuarial funding and accounting valuations of large to medium sized pension plans in both the public and private sectors. His clients included top Fortune 500 companies in the Banking and Finance, Manufacturing, Mining and Healthcare sectors.

One thing you probably didn’t know about Nasir: He was the top performer in the Euclid Mathematics Competition in Kenya in 2003.

Geyijie Li
Geyijie Li
Business Analyst
download VCard

Geyijie received his MSc. in Statistics from Carleton University, and has earned his Associate of the Society of the Actuaries (ASA) designation. Previously, Geyijie worked as a Business Data Analyst in Inspur Group China.

One thing you probably didn’t know about Geyijie: He’s learning how to play the violin.

Wendy Zhang
Wendy Zhang
Business Analyst
download VCard

Wendy has a Bachelor of Science in Financial Mathematics and Financial Engineering, as well as a Master of Science in Mathematics, which she completed in 2015. She previously worked as a Data Administrator at Brookfield Residential.

One thing you probably don’t know about Wendy: She enjoys singing and was a member of the choir in primary school.

Nate Weisbrod
Nate Weisbrod
Sales Support Associate
download VCard

Nate received his Bachelor of Commerce from Ted Rogers School of Management at Ryerson University, where he specialized in Marketing Management. He also did further studies in Entrepreneurship and Strategy.

One thing you probably didn’t know about Nate: He’s a certified scuba diver.

Our Experts

Formed in 2011, our Reformulary Expert Committee includes 13 practicing physicians and pharmacists, all experts in their field. They provide independent advice to us. They are not employees of our company. The Committee meets every month to review new prescription drugs available in Canada, as well as conduct drug class reviews. To date, our Committee has met 78 times.

But what about potential conflicts? Reformulary Group has clear and transparent guidelines on conflicts and interest for members of its Expert Committee. Each member has completed and submitted a Conflict of Interest Disclosure Form, and has an ongoing obligation to disclose any potential, perceived or real conflicts of interest.

Chairman, Vice-Chair
Committee members
Special Advisors
Chair
Dr Paul Oh, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Toronto, Ontario

Dr Paul Oh is the Medical Director of the Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation Program and a Scientist at the Toronto Rehabilitation Institute, at University Health Network (UHN). He is a prior Chair of the Drug Quality and Therapeutics Committee (DQTC) of Ontario, the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-term Care (MOHLTC), and has participated in guidelines and strategic development processes for medication and health technology evaluation provincially and federally.

Vice Chair
Muhammad Mamdani, MPH, MA, PharmD
Toronto, Ontario

Dr Muhammad Mamdani is the Director of the Li Ka Shing Centre for Healthcare Analytics Research and Training (CHART) of the Li Ka Shing Institute of St. Michael's Hospital and an Associate Professor at the University of Toronto. He is also Professor in the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, the Department of Medicine of the Faculty of Medicine, and the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation of the Dalla Lana Faculty of Public Health. Muhammad is also adjunct Senior Scientist at the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (ICES), and a co-Principal Investigator of the Ontario Drug Policy Research Network.

Committee member
Dr Bill Evans, MD, FRCPC
Hamilton, Ontario

Dr Bill Evans is a medical oncologist with a career long interest in lung cancer. He is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Oncology, McMaster University and runs a consulting practice called Oncosynthesis Consulting Inc. He also chairs Cancer Care Ontario’s Smoking Cessation Advisory Committee and is a member of the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer’s Steering Committee for a Cancer Risk Management Model. He has served in several senior positions including CEO of the Ottawa Regional Cancer Centre, provincial head of systemic therapy at the provincial office of Cancer Care Ontario and President of the Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre at Hamilton Health Sciences. Dr Evans has published over 275 publications in peer-reviewed journals.

Committee member
Dr Gerald A. Evans, MD, FRCPC
Kingston, Ontario

Dr Gerald Evans is the Chair of the Division of Infectious Diseases and a Professor in the Departments of Medicine, Biomedical & Molecular Sciences, and Pathology & Molecular Medicine at Queen's University, as well as an attending physician in Infectious Diseases and Internal Medicine at Kingston General Hospital and Hotel Dieu Hospital. He is an Adjunct ICES Scientist and a co-investigator with the Ontario Drug Policy Research Network (ODPRN), serves as a member of the CED-Cancer Care Ontario Subcommittee, and is Chair of the Working Group on Drugs for Rare Diseases for the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC). He is past chair of the MOHLTC Committee to Evaluate Drugs (CED).

Committee member
Jean Lachaine, BPharm, PhD
Montreal, Quebec

Dr Jean Lachaine is a professor at the Faculty of Pharmacy of the University of Montreal and is associate researcher at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Montreal. He is a member of the Scientific Committee of the Quebec Institut National d'Excellence en Santé et en Services Sociaux (INESSS) as the expert in pharmacoeconomics. He is also an active member of the Quebec Network for Personalized Health Care and of the Personalized Medicine Partnership for Cancer (PMPC).

Committee member
Dr Stuart MacLeod, MD, PhD
Vancouver, British Columbia

Dr Stuart MacLeod has been Professor of Pediatrics at the University of British Columbia since 2003 and moved to emeritus status in January 2015. He is an investigator at BC Children’s Hospital, and was previously Director of the Child and Family Research Institute at BC Children’s Hospital and served as Vice President Research for the Provincial Health Services Authority of British Columbia. His current research interests include pediatric clinical pharmacology and toxicology, adverse drug reactions, pharmacogenomics, drug policy and optimal drug use for children.

Committee member
Dr Elizabeth Mann, MD
Halifax, Nova Scotia

Dr Elizabeth Mann is a General Internist with special interest in cardiovascular diseases and porphyria. She was a Professor of Medicine at Dalhousie University. Elizabeth also served on the Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia from June 2007 until May 2017, and served as President of the College from 2012 to 2014. She has received teaching and clinical awards from her department, the Canadian Society of Internal Medicine and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. She has had a number of administrative roles and is currently Past President of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia.

Committee member
Dr Peter Tugwell, MSc, MD, FRCPC, FACP, FRCP
Ottawa, Ontario

Dr Peter Tugwell is a Professor of Medicine, and Epidemiology & Community Medicine at the University of Ottawa and a practicing rheumatologist at the Ottawa Hospital. He is also the Director for the Centre for Global Health at the Institute of Population Health at the University of Ottawa. Peter is a co-director of a WHO Collaborating Centre for Knowledge Translation & Health Technology Assessment in Equity, and Coordinating Editor of the Cochrane Musculoskeletal Review Group. He is an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Committee member
Sandra Knowles, BScPhm
Toronto, Ontario

Sandra Knowles is a Drug Safety Pharmacist at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre in Toronto and Assistant Professor (Status Only) at the Faculty of Pharmacy at the University of Toronto. She has published extensively on adverse drug reactions in peer-reviewed journals and has contributed to various book chapters, with over 100 publications to date.

Special Advisor
Dr Joe Clarke, MD, PhD, MSc
Toronto, Ontario

Joe Clarke is Professor Emeritus of pediatrics at the University of Toronto. He obtained an MD, a PhD in biochemistry and an MSc in health policy. He has contributed to the basic understanding of a number of inherited metabolic diseases, including lysosomal storage diseases. For over 45 years, Joe maintained an active clinical practice attending patients of all ages affected with various inherited metabolic diseases. Dr. Clarke also wrote the textbook, A Clinical Guide to Inherited Metabolic Diseases, Cambridge University Press.

Special Advisor
Dr Andreas Laupacis, MD, MSc
Toronto, Ontario

Andreas is a general internist and the Executive Director of the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of St. Michael’s Hospital, Professors in the Faculty of Medicine and Department of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation at the University of Toronto, and a Scientist at the Keenan Research Centre. He has extensive experience with drug reimbursement decisions in the public sector, having been a member of Ontario’s Drug Therapeutics and Quality Committee (DQTC) and the first Chair of the Canadian Expert Drug Advisory Committee of the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH).

Special Advisor
Dr Braden Manns, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Calgary, Alberta

Braden Manns is the Svare Professor in Heath Economics and a nephrologist at the University of Calgary in the Departments of Medicine and Community Health Sciences and an Alberta Innovates – Health Solutions Health Scholar. He is also the Scientific Director of the Alberta Health Services Kidney – Strategic Clinical Network. Braden is the past Chair of the Canadian Expert Drug Advisory Committee, a past member of the Expert Drug Evaluation and Therapeutics Committee for Alberta Health, and immediate Past President of the Canadian Society of Nephrology.

Special Advisor
Michael Boivin, BScPhm
Barrie, Ontario

Michael Boivin is a clinical pharmacist consultant, continuing education developer and president of CommPharm Consulting Inc. He has written almost 100 continuing education activities for pharmacists, family physicians, physician specialists, nurses and other allied health professionals, and has worked extensively for 17 years in the community pharmacy setting.

Consultant
Dr Michael Mayne, PhD
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Michael is the founder and CEO of Health Consulting Canada Inc., which focuses on improving product value proposition to potential buyers in Canada and worldwide. He has over 15 years of experience as a senior executive in federal and provincial governments, previously serving as Deputy Minister of Health and playing key roles in overhauling Canadian procurement rules and policies for generic and brand medication. Most recently, Michael was CEO for the regional Health Authority where he was responsible for managing front line services for health care within the Canadian single payer system.

About Us

For decades, few knew what a formulary was, let alone understood its importance.

And because no one took care of it, a formulary ceased to be nothing more than a long list that went unmanaged, was undifferentiated, and was not transparent to users.

When a formulary is not managed intelligently and Canadian employers are spending $11 billion annually, there are bound to be consequences.

Increasing drug spend and rising premiums will ultimately lead to desperate and blunt measures to control costs. These measures tend to alienate employees without appreciably reducing costs.

That is precisely why our founder started Reformulary Group, and consequently, why we continue to achieve a high level of success.

Our Reformulary® - which is built on trusted, expert, independent advice – has proven to save employers money and make their plans more sustainable.

Through our Reformulary's DrugFinder® platform, we put the formulary in the hands of plan members and Canadians to empower them to make smart drug choices.

Our new Cannabis Standard™ formulary is being built based on a thorough review of the evidence and on the trusted independent advice of our Cannabis Formulary Committee.

Cannabis Standard will be available in December 2018.

Learn More